March Madness 2013 blog       Write for March Madness blog    

Tyler Hansbrough will have his number retired at North Carolina

Tyler Hansbrough was honored on Tuesday as the Sporting News National Player of the Year. The honor ensures that Hansbrough will be just the eigth player to have his number retired and hanging in the front row of jerseys at the Smith Center. Hansbrough joins elite company as other North Carolina players with there numbers retired include Michael Jordan, Phil Ford, and James Worthy. Tyler said "It truly is something special to have accomplished," "In fact, it's kind of hard to sit here and talk about how it feels to be put in the same category as the players who are up there already." The last player to have his number retired at North Carolina was Antawn Jamison unanimous national player of the year in 1998.
You can vote in our National Player of the Year poll where the fan voting is still very close.

No comments:

Post a Comment

March Madness 2011 Mix blog featured writers
Write about March Madness 2011
We believe that you the avid fan, student journalist, and or freelance writer deserve to be heard. Avid fans have a strong desire to hear from the common (or not so common) "man" as well. You are always free to write about the material of your choice, in your own unique style, and on your own schedule. So vent,enlighten and share with us!
Contact us at:
Enjoy March Madness brackets, news, talk?
Please help us spread the word on the Sports Mixed Network by letting friends, and family know about it. The more we grow our community of avid fans, the more features we can add. So please send a Tweet, Facebook message or better yet tell them in person.